7 answers

Average Babysitting Costs

Hello moms,
I was just wondering what your thoughts are on the cost of childcare? I'm specifically speaking about in-home daycare. I have heard that the average is around $50 per day. I recently went back to work part time and I hired a friend to watch my 2 1/2 year old daughter 2 days a week. I also work on Saturdays but daddy is home to watch her then. I think $100 a week is pretty high and truly I cannot afford that. My daughter is not potty trained yet. What are ya'll paying for childcare? I have priced all the day-care centers around in my area and I can put her in for 3 days a week for about $120 per week. Does anyone have any advice or know of anywhere that is reliable and cheaper?

What can I do next?

So What Happened?™

I live in Land O Lakes, in Oakstead off of Rt 54, inbetween the Suncoast and 41. I work in Land O Lakes at a nail salon on 41 by the LOL Post office. I can afford around $50-$60 per week and need childcare on Wednesdays and Fridays from 9:30am til 5pm.

More Answers

Before I stopped working I had my 2 boys in an in-home daycare and she only charged me $50.00 a day and that was for 2 kids, before I had my second son she only charged me $25.00 a day. So I think that is a little high. I loved the daycare too, she took very good care of them and fed them breakfast and lunch.

that price is ridiculous, I paid $90 and she watched my daughter mon-fri from 7-4pm where exactly are u located?

$50 a day is about the going rate.

i used to do in home childcare for a newborn and i charge 120.00 a week and that was for 40-45 hrs a week

D.,

While my daughter was an infant & toddler, I watched two children in my home on a part-time (3 days per week) basis. I charged $30/day and fed breakfast, lunch, (and sometimes dinner)! I only went back to work 2 months ago, so this was recent.

My daughter now attends Creative Times Academy which is a fabulous daycare / preschool and I only pay $140/week. That is $28/day. And they offer a 2 day per week program.

Good luck!

I have my daughter in full time and she is potty trained and they charge me 105 per week I know they have part time rates also...I will tell you when I first moved here I was paying 160 a week, untill I found the one she is in now....if you find one cheaper let me know I am in the usf area

Hi D.. I have two children and I am a stay-at-home mom. I currently babysit my friend's son who is 7-months-old. I would be interested in babysitting your daughter if you are located in my vicinity. I live off of SR 52 and Moon Lake Road. It is a brand new subdivision named Pine Ridge. If you are interested, let me know the times you are looking for care for your daughter and I will give you a reasonable rate. Look forward to speaking with you soon. Sincerely, G. J.

1 / 3
Required Fields

Our records show that we already have a Mamapedia or Mamasource account created for you under the email address you entered.

Please enter your Mamapedia or Mamasource password to continue signing in.

Required Fields

, you’re almost done...

Since this is the first time you are logging in to Mamapedia with Facebook Connect, please provide the following information so you can participate in the Mamapedia community.

As a member, you’ll receive optional email newsletters and community updates sent to you from Mamapedia, and your email address will never be shared with third parties.

By clicking "Continue to Mamapedia", I agree to the Mamapedia Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.