Soon to Be New Mom Seeking Childcare

Updated on March 09, 2009
L.A. asks from McKinney, TX
4 answers

Hi ladies I am new to this site but was hoping to get some help with my childcare search. I live in McKinney and have just started looking for a childcare provider. I am open to in home as well as nannies. Please help

What can I do next?

  • Add yourAnswer own comment
  • Ask your own question Add Question
  • Join the Mamapedia community Mamapedia
  • as inappropriate
  • this with your friends

More Answers



answers from Dallas on

Good afternoon! Would you or anyone you know might be interested in hiring an Au Pair?

Au pairs are foreign exchange students, young women (and men), ages 18-26
primarily from Europe & Latin America, that want to spend a year or more
with an American family. They are fluent in English as well as their native

In exchange for a private room, board, a weekly stipend and an annual
educational allowance of $500 they'll provide up to 45 hours of childcare
(and related childcare duties) as a live-in nanny. They are in the USA on legal
visas and can also travel domestically or abroad with minimal paperwork. They
are required to attend monthly au pair meetings, and obtain 6 hours of credit
from an accredited school/college annually. They are screened, medically insured
and experienced.

Here is just a short list of what our Au Pairs can do.
* Quality Coverage for up to 45 hours per week (you set the schedule!)
* Weekends/Nights are Possible
* Au Pairs handle Children's meals, laundry and clean up
* Children are exposed to new language and culture
* Most Au Pairs drive (so children's activities, school, etc. are easier to
* They live-in -- so snow days / sick days are not a problem!
* Continuous local support for your local counselor
* Our Agency handles visas, flights, etc.
* Au Pairs usually stay one year -- but new rules allow them to choose an extra
* Our Au Pair Program is regulated by the U.S. Dept. of State

All Au Pairs:
*Participate in a careful screening process
*Are qualified 18 to 26 years old
*Are proficient in English
*Participate in an orientation and training program
*Enjoy children and have previous experience
*Express a sincere interest in living with an American family for a year
*Have successfully completed their country's secondary education
*The entire program is overseen by the U.S. Dept. of State!!

We offer both a full year program and a summer Au Pair program. Host Families
on the full year program have the option to extend their au pair's stay
longer if needed.

Can they drive? Do we need to provide a car?
Drivers are a frequent request and they're certainly available. However,
there is no need to provide a dedicated vehicle. Having access to a car for
their duties is convenient for many households that don't have mass transit
options nearby. If you're located in an urban area with public transport
then a non-driving au pair could work as well.

Are you interested? Do you know anyone who might be interested in this
wonderful program? If the answer is yes, feel free to contact me, via email. Please see bellow the 12 year program fees:

1) A $177 weekly stipend

2) Annual educational allowance of $500

3) $300 application fee

4) $2500 deposit

5) $4550 program fee balance.

Right now, we are offering a $1000 off regular program fees so it comes out
roughly at $334 a week and $47 a day!


T. Lederman



answers from Dallas on

Congrats on your pregnancy! We have found two in-home daycares in McKinney through Craigslist--both great! We only discontinued the first because the owner's husband got a job in Colorado and they moved! In both cases, they were/are state registered--if you do use Craigslist, I would HIGHLY recommend finding state registered ones, and talk to plenty of references, but I also think you can tell a good bit from the vibe you get meeting a woman in her home. Also pay attention to how her own kids behave--that was a huge clue for us!

Do you need full time or part time? I know our current in-home daycare, near McKinney North HS, has part-time openings. PM me if you're interested. And good luck!



answers from Dallas on

I'd highly recommend you do everything you can to stay home with your new precious little one. No one can love him/her like M. can. It will mean the world of a difference in your lives. If the reason is financial, get on the Dave Ramsey plan and make it happen. There's nothing more important than you being at home with your baby. He/she will thank you later for it! I've come to love staying at home so much that if I had to live in a shack to be able to stay home, I'd do it in a heartbeat. God bless you as you welcome a precious new little baby!



answers from Dallas on

Good Morning,

I am a License In-Home. I specialize in infant care from 2 weeks to 18 months. We provide the formula and wipes and all foods as they become older. I do not work alone. I have two wonderful ladies that work with me. I keep the ratio low to provide the best care possible.

My home is bilingual and we also teach them sign language.

We are located on Eldorado and Preston in Frisco

Please visit my website at

PLease feel free to contact me at ###-###-####

Good Luck

For Updates and Special Promotions
Follow Us

Related Questions