Car Seat Laws - Cedar Park,TX

Updated on November 22, 2010
H.O. asks from Cedar Park, TX
20 answers

What are the current car seat laws? I have a 9 year old, 4 year old and 2 year old.

Thanks!

1 mom found this helpful

What can I do next?

  • Add yourAnswer own comment
  • Ask your own question Add Question
  • Join the Mamapedia community Mamapedia
  • as inappropriate
  • this with your friends

Featured Answers

Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

R.B.

answers from College Station on

Though the law states that an 8 year-old who is under 4'9" doesn't have to be in a booster seat, it is still recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics to keep a shorter child in a booster seat until the adult seat fits properly--when they reach 4'9".

1 mom found this helpful

L.A.

answers from Austin on

Everybody in the car must be buckled in the car. Children under the age of 8 need to be in a car or booster seat.

No texting or cell phone use in School zones.

1 mom found this helpful

More Answers

Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

D.C.

answers from San Antonio on

I copied ALL of the following info from Texas Department of Public Safety: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/director_staff/public_inform...

If you have any questions, please contact Beth Warren, DPS Administrative Training Unit, Safety
Programs at ###-###-#### or [email protected]____.com.

Starting September 1, 2009, any child who is UNDER age 8 years and/or UNDER 4 feet 9 inches (57 inches) MUST be properly restrained in a car seat or booster seat (high-back or backless).

The following explains better:
If your child is 8 years old or older he does NOT have to be in a car/booster seat.

If your child is taller than 4 feet 9 inches (57 inches) he does NOT have to be in a car/booster seat.

If your child is 8 years old or older *and* SHORTER than 4 feet 9 inches (57 inches) he does NOT have to be in a car/booster seat.

The law will take effect September 1, 2009. Law enforcement officers may only enforce the new
changes in the law with written or verbal warnings until June 1, 2010.
However, beginning on June 1, 2010, officers may then arrest or issue a citation/notice to appear to
a person committing an offense.
A fine of not more than $25 can be assessed for a first offense and no more than $250 for the
second or subsequent offenses.

Hope this helps!

1 mom found this helpful
Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

L.M.

answers from Houston on

In Texas the laws changed as of Sept 1.

Children under 8 or less than 4'8" tall have to ride in a booster seat. No where that I have seen does it state it has to be a high back booster. From now until June 10,2010, cops will only give a warning. After that date, the first ticket is $25 (I think) and the next is like $250.

My son has been in a seat only booster for a couple of years now. Friends of mine also said they were told by a cop friend that children riding in a 1/2 ton or more vehicle don't have to ride in a booster seat. I haven't read or heard that anywhere. So, I have come to the conclusion that they just made that up, so they don't have to buy (or make him ride in) a booster for their child. He's the same age as my son, which really bothers me. But, when my son asked, I just told him that it didn't matter what they make their son do, I wanted my son to be as safe as possible.

I see one of the posters suggested calling your doctor office. Another place to call is a car dealership. Certain personnel at dealerships have to attend car seat installation classes on a regular basis.

BTW, also as of Sept 1, all passengers, no matter their age or where they are seated, have to wear a seatbelt in a vehicle.

1 mom found this helpful
Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

J.H.

answers from Houston on

For the most accurate info. I would check www.tdprs.com (I think) not sure if it's gov. Or org.

1 mom found this helpful
Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

T.N.

answers from Houston on

I googled 'Texas traffic laws' and it pulled them up so you can read them for yourself, but basically the law changed Sept. 1 but they will not issue tickets until Jan 1, 2010. They must be 8 yrs old or 4'9" in order not to have to have a car seat. Everyone must be wearing a seat belt up to and including a 15 passenger van. If you were sitting in the back seat you didn't have to have a seat belt & passenger vans didn't have to have one but they do now. I hope this helps.

1 mom found this helpful
Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

J.T.

answers from Victoria on

call your local dps office. i think it has more to do with height than age. if you get stoped and they tell you then that your doing it wrong...is your arguement going to be "but momma source said...." get the real facts from the law itself. good luck.

1 mom found this helpful
Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

B.W.

answers from Austin on

Anyone who has questions about safety seats/safety belts/Texas laws on both can contact B. W. at DPS Austin. She's been in this program for 13+ years and can assist in answering your questions.
[email protected]____.com

1 mom found this helpful
Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

J.E.

answers from Killeen on

I noticed you lived in Texas. The car seat laws in Texas changed a couple months ago. Children now have to sit in booster chairs until the age of 8. Your 9 year old can sit in a normal seat. The 4 year old will need a booster seat. Two year olds are recommended to stay in a conversion style car seat as long as their height/weight are within the carseat standards. You can also find a car seat that is a booster with a high back and arm rest, which is what I had to use with my youngest son at 2 & 1/2 because he was over the height/ weight limit of our conversion carseat. Check your carseat weight limits and judge accordingly.

1 mom found this helpful
Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

A.J.

answers from Killeen on

currently it's 5 yrs old or 50 lbs, but they just passed a new law that will be 8 yrs old or 80 lbs, but they will not start ticketing until June of 2010

1 mom found this helpful
Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

F.P.

answers from Killeen on

look on your state's website and it should have it there

Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

S.F.

answers from Austin on

Please keep your children in a five-point harness car seat for as long as possible and purchase car seats with high weight limits so that this is possible. Also, make sure that the rear-facing weight limit is high too. (30-35 lbs) My car seat is a Recaro and the rear-facing weight limit is 30lbs and the forward-facing is 80 lbs. Please read through this website as it is very helpful and much more current than most info you will get. You will be amazed by the statistics involving fatal accidents because children were in boosters, or were forward-facing much too soon.
http://www.kyledavidmiller.org/

Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

A.C.

answers from Odessa on

The law was copied and that's great. You've got the correct wording and not someones interpretation.

You should also find a technician to check to make sure that you have your seats installed properly and the correct seat for you child. The following site should help you do that. http://buckleup.tamu.edu/
Your local extension office, law enforcement agencies, hospitals, and/or fire department should also be able to help.

I want to point out that just because the law says they don't have to be in a seat, doesn't mean it's the safest. It is our responsibility to make sure our children are as safe as possible, I hope this info helps you do that.

Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

J.T.

answers from Austin on

I have no idea what state you're in but in Texas, your child must be at least 4'9" before they do NOT have to use a booster seat with the seatbelts. This law was just recently passed but officers will pull you over if they don't see children properly seated/belted in cars.

Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

M.M.

answers from Austin on

9 yr old is free, but the
other two need at least a booster seat!

Smallavatar-fefd015f3e6a23a79637b7ec8e9ddaa6

M.N.

answers from Longview on

you can look this up online. I did. Google car seat laws

For Updates and Special Promotions
Follow Us

Related Questions

Related Searches