21 answers

Has Any One Got a Request like This from "Craigs List"

i posted my car on craigs list.

i got a few responses and two have followed up with the same/similer eamils.

that they want to buy the car and will send a person to pick up the car. But b/4 that he would send me a money order for 5k more then what i am asking for the car and its for me to take my portion and the 5k extra is for me to give to his shipper??? then he goes on to ask for my address and name to "send" the money order?????????

It just sounds to funny to me...and i have asked both to call me.......how can anyone buy something like a car and not come to look at it or talk to the person that is selling it??????
any other suggestion on where i can post my jeep for sale???

What can I do next?

So What Happened?™

thanks for all your responses......
i had emailed them both to call me (To a prepaid phone) and just let them know that i didn't get there responses........And low and behold haven't heard from them since.........

It sounded very stupid from the 1st email i got from them.........who buys a care with out talking to the seller.......even if your from out of town..............

Thanks again.......Just shows how much we should all be aware of...........

Featured Answers

Oh...don't touch it...I've heard of these type of scams. Why don't you try Carmax? See what they'll give you. At least it's safe. Do you belong to any Moms groups...NPN or a meetup group where you might be able to post it. Like the others autotrader is good too. I found my car on there but it was through a dealer in the end.

That sounds pretty fishy! I would NOT do it. The money order could be fake. Seriously it sounds like something that I have seen on 20/20, an episode on fraud. I have not had experience with it but it sounds a little weird.

More Answers

Oh...don't touch it...I've heard of these type of scams. Why don't you try Carmax? See what they'll give you. At least it's safe. Do you belong to any Moms groups...NPN or a meetup group where you might be able to post it. Like the others autotrader is good too. I found my car on there but it was through a dealer in the end.

try http://www.autotrader.com/
I sold my car through here a few years ago and it was a very legit, clean, no-hassle deal. your car will be advertised on-line and in their print publication. my car sold within a month. good luck!

That sounds pretty fishy! I would NOT do it. The money order could be fake. Seriously it sounds like something that I have seen on 20/20, an episode on fraud. I have not had experience with it but it sounds a little weird.

This sounds a lot like a scam that's been on the news, etc. lately. I think what they do is send you a fake money order, have you deposit it, and hope that you immediately take out the extra $5K to send to them. Days later, the bank discovers the money order is fake, and you are out the $5K you sent to the "buyer", plus, potentially, your car!

Yup I got the same email from someone about an 8 in 1 I posted. I simply told him that I listed it on craigslist because I didn't want to bother with the shipping if I wanted to ship it I would have done it on Ebay instead.

Stay away from him it's a scam they are just like those crazy ones from those other countries that tell you they need you to cash a check from them and they will give you X amount of money if you help them transfer it out of their country then next thing you know ALL your money is gone.

Good luck with the selling I have become addicted to Craigslist and just with selling some toys and outside stuff I have already made $700 in the last 6 weeks :)

J.

Do not take their offer; as one of the previous moms responded this is a SCAM where you end up cashing a fake money order. If you do that you will be responsible for paying back the money you cashed ... good thing that you asked before taking any action :o)
Good Luck!

Hi M.,

It's a scam...happens all the time. I think craigslist actually has a discalimer as to how to recognize scams. Everytime we have sold something on craiglsit we have gotten similar emails. But, I still think craigslist is a good tool so don't be afraid to use it. Just remember, if something sounds a little wierd, trust your gut and ignore the email. Good luck!

C.

M.,
This sounds "fishy" to me, and I would not get involved with either of these people. They may be trying to scam you or worse. Trust your gut - this is not the one.
Good Luck, and make sure to do all business in public and preferably not alone.
Jean

Required Fields

Our records show that we already have a Mamapedia or Mamasource account created for you under the email address you entered.

Please enter your Mamapedia or Mamasource password to continue signing in.

Required Fields

, you’re almost done...

Since this is the first time you are logging in to Mamapedia with Facebook Connect, please provide the following information so you can participate in the Mamapedia community.

As a member, you’ll receive optional email newsletters and community updates sent to you from Mamapedia, and your email address will never be shared with third parties.

By clicking "Continue to Mamapedia", I agree to the Mamapedia Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.